Roast Pork with fennel and preserved lemon

Another weekend and another new recipe to try! Liked the idea of using an ingredient I haven’t used before, so when I saw this recipe using preserved lemon, thought I would give it a go!

 Serves 2

 Ingredients

 1 preserved lemon (new ingredient)

 1 garlic clove

 ½ tsp chilli flakes

 1 tsp smoked paprika

 1 tbsp honey

 2 tbsp coriander

 1 red onion, cut into wedges

 1 fennel bulb, cut into wedges

 1 tbsp vegetable oil

 300g pork medallions

 Pre heat the oven to 200c, rinse the lemon under running water, chop in half and discard the flesh and save the rind. Put the lemon, garlic, chilli, paprika, honey and coriander in a food processor, whizz until you have a puree. Rub the puree onto the pork medallions.

Place the vegetables on the baking tray/dish, pour over the oil and give a quick toss and season, place the pork on top of the veggies and cook for 25-30 minutes, turn the pork over half way through.

As I hadn’t tried the preserved lemon before was hoping it wouldn’t over power the pork it didn’t! All the flavours worked well and gave the dish a Moroccan feel.

I will be cooking this dish again and I’m sure the puree would work well with chicken or fish!

 

16 thoughts on “Roast Pork with fennel and preserved lemon

  1. That looks gorgeous!
    My mum lives in Cyprus and makes her own preserved lemons. Lovely.
    You don’t have to discard the flesh, she uses the whole lot. Handy when you have a lemon tree in your back yard!

  2. This looks wonderful. I will have to give it a try when we next have roast pork. I have some fennel in the fridge (lots on our market at the moment and I bought a big bowlful last week) and I always have preserved lemons as I make my own (really easy and worth it!)
    My grandparents used to live in Billericay many moons ago so I know it quite well – small world!
    Thank you
    hopeeternal
    ‘Meanderings through my Cookbook’
    http://www.hopeeternalcookbook.wordpress.com

  3. Tried this today and it tasted as good as I thought it sounded. I actually used it as a rub on a joint of pork, adding extra honey and some more (olive) oil to help baste. The family loved it and it will now go on my ‘for entertaining’ list.
    I also have it stored as an future blog post, where you will be credited and you should eventually get a pingback. (Could be a while though as I have a number stacked up!)
    Thanks
    hopeeternal
    ‘Meanderings through my Cookbook’
    http://www.hopeeternalcookbook.wordpress.com

    • So pleased it was a success! I for one love it when you get a recipe that you know you will use for entertaining, means a few less hours going through cooking books eh!

      Thanks for adding to your blog post too!

      Take care
      Nuala
      x

Leave a Reply

