Bocca Di Lupo

Considering we went to Bocca Di Lupo for Darren’s birthday in November this has taken me an age to write!

But December to be blunt was a complete write off as I went down with acute bronchitis! And wasted lots of days in bed!

I must admit I was really looking forward to my meal at Bocca di Lupo, and as it announces itself as “The mouth of the wolf, in the heart of Soho,” I knew my wolf (Darren) who loves Italian wouldn’t be disappointed!

I had read the reviews, Giles Coren, looked at a few blogs such as American in London, so therefore was hoping for great things at Lupo.

We arrived for our lunch slightly early and were taken straight to our table, the bar was buzzing and the cooks were hard at work.

Our waitress Sophie gave us a run down of how the menu worked, we decided to go with the tapas style, sharing plates between us.

We started with fried artichoke & lamb’s sweetbreads; Sophie did quickly ask if we knew what we had ordered as some people aren’t always sure what sweetbreads are.

Let me tell you they were gorgeous the batter was just right and the both flavours worked really well together.

 

We next went with a couple of pasta dishes, pappardelle with ox cheek, black pepper & tomato, the Ox cheek just melted in your mouth and the black pepper gave the right amount of heat, we were going to try another pasta dish but Sophie said we had to try the Orecchiette with ‘nduja if we liked spicy, which we do, the pasta was amazing so buttery and the sauce was as describe wonderfully spicy!

I had a look at the menu before hand and the words “Roast suckling pig” had jumped out at me, so when it came to the main course I took control and went straight for the little piggy!!

Was very pleased with my decision, the crackling was perfection (just needed so much more of it!) the meat was succulent and the roast potatoes with chestnuts and red onions complimented the dish perfectly, so much we ordered two plates, we became the piggy’s!

After all those dishes we were both stuffed and couldn’t manage dessert, this is fantastic cooking, the dinning room was buzzing even when we left a couple of hours later.  If  you are looking for a new italian to try, I urge you to give Bocca Di Lupo a try you won’t be disappointed.

2 thoughts on “Bocca Di Lupo

  1. You chose some delicious dishes! makes my mouth water! I”ve only sat at the bar at Bocca di Lupo. I went with an Italian who afterwards couldn’t stop raving about the food. I tried to go again in November, as a walk in early on a Thursday night, no chance. Definitely still a popular place, you have reminded me why.

Leave a Reply

