Boundary Review

Where oh where to take mummy for birthday lunch so many lovely places but we were looking for somewhere near Liverpool street, Boundary popped into my mind and after looking at the menu a table for two was booked!

When we arrived at Boundary and then descended the stairs to the main restaurant, I was concerned as we were going down the second flight of stairs that the restaurant was going to be quite dark, I couldn’t have been more wrong, there are glass blocks on the ceiling which let in loads of light. Our table faced the kitchen which is behind glass so you can see the chefs hard at work!

We started off our meal with (anyone that knows me this will come as no surprise!) me knocking over a champagne glass for the champagne trolley behind me! Too be fair to me this was far too close to the table and to be fair to them they didn’t make me feel too bad and I created an entrance if nothing else!

Back to lunch, we started with a Bellini was wonderful you could really taste the fresh peach juice. They have a lunch which is £19.50 for two courses or £24.50 for three. Which is great value.

The menu is very French not surprising I went from the set menu starting with Charcuterie, terrines, pâtés & rillettes, which was plated at the table a nice touch, the pâtés were the best part especially the pistachio one!

Mum went of menu and for steak tartare for starter topped with a quail’s egg, of course I tried some and the meat had a great flavour the capers and gherkins provided the right amount of zing.

For main mum went for the Wild halibut, peas, broad beans and mint which was the dish caught my eye off the a la carte menu and was cooked to perfection mum loved it!

From the set menu I had the Rôti du jour, The roast chicken, this came with selection of vegetables and a wonderful tarragon sauce. This dish was gorgeous the chicken was lovely, moist and the sauce made it! But my goodness it was very filling!!!

I choose a wine from the sommeliers recommendations at the front of the wine list, a French Viognier, Domaine Gayda, Vin de Pays d’Oc, France
it was just right for an afternoon lunch And at £25 it was reasonable price too.

So when we came to dessert we were both full but again let’s face it there is always room for cheese, which we shared. Again plated at the table with a delicious selection of French cheese, which I can never resist!

So as a mummy birthday lunch venue boundary was perfect and believe my mum is hard to please 🙂
To be honest the Sunday lunch is next on the list and the roomtop bar now open so if you are in the area pop in!

Leave a Reply

